Pre 84 Trucks 1st gen pickups

Help; engine bay fire, now it won't idleLA.ea

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2017, 08:50 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help; engine bay fire, now it won't idleLA.ea

Hello all,

I have been been searching around and reviewed a lot of posts about various topics but have a bit of an odd ball here. My starter cable caught fire and burned up some wiring and vacuum lines in the area. It is dark now and I can't take pictures of what has been repaired yet but I'll give you the information I have and see if anyone has a solution or things to investigate. But first, I need to tell you about the truck. Bear with me though, I'm an electrician, not a mechanic.

I was leaving work one day and I accidentally hit the key while it was warming up. My starter ground and had a clicking noise when I started it from then until it caught fire. Apparently it grenaded the starter and must have overloaded the wire. I have a 1981 Pickup SR5 4WD with a few upgrades. I have a weber 32/36 DGEV with a LCE spiral adapter, fuel pressure regulator, as well as a performance clutch with a heavy duty flywheel. It also has a k&n air filter on it that lets the hood close (pm me for part numbers if you are interested). The truck ran fine for 2 years before the fire and has been sitting for about a year and a half since. This is a CA truck with all the smog equipment.