Pre 84 Trucks 1st gen pickups

22R/20R Hybrid Details?

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2011, 07:15 PM

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
I wouldn't say that I'm an expert by any means, but I really like things to be running the best they can and so after getting the hybrid I really found out a ton about it by reading online and talking with people. There are a lot of things that aren't true about them that you will hear online. I think one of the major things on the 22 series motors are restrictions in airflow. A port and polish and all that is possible will help a lot. Same with larger valves and a cam. If you are going to be using anything past a stage one cam you will probably have to upgrade valve train and if you do that you may have to have notched pistons. Just be sure to make sure what you want before you build it b/c afterwards it will be a lot of work to change those major things.

I didn't do port/polish on mine b/c I haven't had to pull the head, but there is a good chance I may have to soon (don't really want to explain why, LC engineering's fault) and if I do you can guarantee I will be porting and polishing it.

Check this link toward the bottom. It is toysport, i had a typo in the last post

http://www.toysport.com/technical%20...tech_notes.htm
Old 06-30-2011, 07:30 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by live4soccer7