4Runners-1st gen Post your 1st gens here

ShoeRunner's Profile

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-2006, 07:33 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
ShoeRunner's Profile

I purchased my '86 22RE SR5 back in March(I think) and I have been spending a few hours each weekend on it slowly working out some issues. I meant to start this post back when I bought it,but I never made time. It is coming along and I realize that this could help me track the progress. I thought I would have to travel up to 1000miles to find a nice 1st gen, but I lucked out and found one about 30min away. When I bought it the previous owner had it a 3" body lift in and it was riding on 32" swampers.

Call me what you will, but it was not set up for my purposes. I drive it to work (I am a Toyota Salesman) everyday and I no matter how much time I spend on the trails it will sadly see mostly highway. Everyone, including the techs, think I am crazy(probably right), but the 1st gen 4Runner is the truck I always dreamed of building. In HS I dreamed of taking some little truck and hacking the back out of it and welding the cab to the bed, little did I know that Toyota had done it ten years before.

This is actually my first 4x4 vehicle. I am from the south and just moved to WI last year. I am a road racer at heart and my motivations for getting a 4x4 were more to allow me to get a very impratical sports car(miata) next year.

That said I am looking forward to getting out on the trails as I am sure I will get hooked. Of course I am spending so much time and money on repairs as it is that I am terrified of what will happen when I start pounding on it.