Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners (Build-Up Section) Post your build-ups here

Dromo's 99 Taco Build

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2015, 08:58 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Dromo's 99 Taco Build

I've never used the build forum, but I'm going to this time. This truck will not be a serious wheeler, but more of utility vehicle and adventure machine. I'll be using this thread to keep track of my labor, costs, and progress toward a completed built. I'm totally new to Tacomas, so there's a slight learning curve.

The truck came with a recent rebuild on the 2.7, intake/header/high flow exhaust, and an elocker. It sits on 31's.

The suspension was a disaster. Nearly every bushing was destroyed and the rear axle had been forced backward an inch or so by an inept install of airbags. The front was Revtech spacer junk with sad Rancho struts. I tore out all suspension parts, put in Old Man Emu--just for simplicity and speed of delivery (10 hours from 4wheel parts!...i know, i know, they're the Walmart of offroad parts)--and kept the diff drop.

I also ground the calipers to properly fit the supplied rims (black Cragar "crawler"-type/d-windows with insufficient offset).

Forthcoming stuff:

-Light Racing UCAs, LCA Bushings, OE BJs
-Some minor brake stuff (new pads, new front lines)
-Resolve an intermittent gas gauge freak out (apparently fairly common)
-Manual hub swap
-armor for elocker and rear diff
-Sliders (came with s*ittybilt nerfs, which are now gone).
-possibly a steel front bumper (came with lame Westin rabbit bar and mounted $$$ PIAA's--hopefully leaving via craigslist)

Longer-term:

-new and stronger front skids
-rear frame to full box
-Gears and/or low-range t-case (I still don't know what gears are in there, but no taller than 4.10, I'm sure)
-low profile rear bumper

Unless I get really frisky, that'll be it for this rig.

I'll post some pics within a day or two.

Cheers, yotatech!

Last edited by dromomaniac; 04-29-2015 at 02:10 PM.