Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Wouldnt you rather go to a truck shop?

Search this Thread

Old 01-11-2005, 04:27 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Wouldnt you rather go to a truck shop?

Im looking into opening up a CUSTOM trucks shop. Anything from suspension lifts and drops, airbags,paint. All that good stuff. My question is...If there was one near you, would you go there? Are you more comfortable with a shop that only does trucks to do you lift and gears and all of that? What do you guys think?Thx
Old 01-11-2005, 04:46 PM

I've recently thought about this question. I've just gone from bone stock to adding a lift, front bumper, winch, sliders, etc.... Since I have little prior experience wrenching on anything bigger than a motorcycle, I was hesitant to jump into all these projects. On the other hand I wanted to know and understand my truck, especially when (not if) I break out on the trail. My decision was to do all the modes myself.

My next project is to install air lockers and 4.88 gears. For this I will bring the truck in to have the gears and air lockers installed, although only after I setup the compressor, tank, and lines.

It would have been much more difficult without the help Jeff Bathke (the Marmot), Lars Dennert, and Steve Schaefer, and the many write ups on this site. Thanks guys!!
Old 01-11-2005, 04:57 PM

I don't think that you can really ask such a question here. As a good chunk of this boards population is pretty good with a wrench. I prefer to do what I can myself, but if a problem becomes to large or to the point where I have done all I can. I will indeed take it to a shop. Its a pretty good idea as I'm sure there is enough people out there that want to do what the guys on this board do to thier trucks, but have little know how or desire to learn how. So I would imagine you'd get a fair amount of buisness.
Old 01-11-2005, 04:58 PM