Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Please Help! Cylinder #2 Misfire 3.4l

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2010, 07:58 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Please Help! Cylinder #2 Misfire 3.4l

I would like to thank you in advance for any assistance provided throughout this thread. I feel I am a pretty good mechanic, but find myself stumped over this misfire.

The truck is a 95.5 Tacoma with a 3.4l engine. The truck feels like it runs fine, but loses power in the upper RPM range, and continues to trigger the check engine light with a Cylinder #2 Misfire. Here is what I have done so far to try and fix the problem.

Spark Plugs (properly gapped)
Wires
Swapped coils (to see if the misfire moved to another cyl)
Seafoam
Fuel Filter
New Fuel Injector for Cylinder 2

Is there a way to test if it is Valve related? What else should I look for?

Thanks Again!
Old 01-23-2010, 09:04 AM
Contributing Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Originally Posted by amocat95

Thanks Again!
Try a compression test.
Old 01-23-2010, 09:31 AM

amocat

I had the same symtom on my 2000 4runner ltd 3.4. just cleaned my throttle body and my MAF with a brake cleanner and the problem went away, cause my after market filter caked my MAF with oil and it wasnt working properly.....anyhow give it a try and see what happens....try the cheapest route first before yjou start changing parts.. let me know k.....have fun
Old 01-23-2010, 09:35 AM

I would like to thank you in advance for any assistance provided throughout this thread. I feel I am a pretty good mechanic, but find myself stumped over this misfire.

The truck is a 95.5 Tacoma with a 3.4l engine. The truck feels like it runs fine, but loses power in the upper RPM range, and continues to trigger the check engine light with a Cylinder #2 Misfire. Here is what I have done so far to try and fix the problem.

Spark Plugs (properly gapped)
Wires
Swapped coils (to see if the misfire moved to another cyl)
Seafoam