Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Dealer says no snow chains

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2003, 01:06 PM
Contributing Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Originally posted by ewarnerusa
You always hear about how skinny pizza-cutter tires are actually better in snow rather than wide muddin' tires. I don't know the physics behind that one, either. But that's what they say... Can someone explain it for us? It is a good point you have, though, about comparing snow conditions with desert sand. I would imagine they are similar, but I can't think of a single example of how 2wd is better than 4wd in snow.
Let me start off by saying growing up in southern California I'm no snow expert, but I've driven in snow a handful of times and have gone snowboarding a handful of times. I also know physics.

So...I think it depends on the type of snow we're all talking about. If it's deep, powdery, trail breaking snow then I've heard more surface area is better, thus the reason airing down is better. But if we're talking a couple inches of street snow then I would imagine there are two theories here.

1) skinnier tires will tend to break through to the hard surface easier, much the reason skinnier tires are said to be better for mud -- that is, they'll dig down past the mud until they hit hard packed dirt. Of course, if the mud is too deep then you'll just succeed in getting stuck.

2) Ice skates work by having so much force on such a little area (high pressure) that the compression melts the ice momentarily and allows the skate blades to slide by easily. I think skinnier tires, while they won't have enough pressure to melt the snow completely, will compress the snow enough that the tires will be able to grip the snow fairly well. The compression of the snow will also conform to the tread of the tire resulting in better traction. A skinnier tire will exert more pressure on the snow than a larger one, thereby compressing the snow harder.