Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

4WD not engaging

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2017, 03:14 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
4WD not engaging

Hi, Newbie here. I have a 2000 4runner SR5 with a 5spd manual. My problem is I can't get the 4wd to engage. I have done a search and read all of the articles but I can't seem to figure this out. I took the vehicle to the dealership and told them to diagnose the problem. they said it was a transfer case switch/sensor part number 84222-35110. They didn't have one on hand and I didn't want to pay them to fix it, just diagnose. I ordered the part online and replaced it. Still no 4wd.

The front driveline locks up when placed in 4Hi but the front wheels will not turn when jacked up off the ground. I don't get the 4wd indicator light on the dash either. I'm assuming my ADD is working correctly because the front driveline locks up when placed in 4HI and turns freely when put back into 2HI?

This is my daughters vehicle and she needs 4wd. More snow headed this way this weekend too. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Old 01-18-2017, 04:15 PM

UPDATE: I switched the hoses on the VSV and now the 4wd is engaged. Do I have a bad VSV?
Old 01-18-2017, 07:51 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
First of all, I don't think any manuals had this but does your 4WD engage with a button on the side of the stick or by pulling it back? Two completely different setups. I would bet you pull it back. So this is how it works.
Pull the stick back.
Transfer case engages
ECU reads signal from the 4WD position sensor/switch in the TC and is informed that the case it turning.
ECU sends signal to VSV to lock in the front end.
Vacuum is applied to the actuator and the front end locks.
Another similar switch/sensor in the front diff sends signal back to ECU.
Only after this will the 4WD indicator light in the dash light up.
Shift to 4WD is complete.