Camping, Expedition, & Overlanding Gear Discussion pertaining to outfitting yourself with gear for the great outdoors

Newbie - Truck Tent and Truck Bed Air Matress

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2009, 04:44 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newbie - Truck Tent and Truck Bed Air Matress

Ola Amigos,

I'm a newbie, just got my 09 Tacoma - TRD OffRoad on Saturday.

Since I just spent pretty much as much as I was allowed and have a trip to the Florida Keys coming up in early March I was thinking of buying a Sportz Truck Tent III and Truck Bedz Expedition Mattress at Bass Pro Shop.

Reason: I don't have the flow right away to buy a trailer/rooftop tent/ magionola whachamacallit so I was thinking to use this setup for the time being.

Any thoughts?
Old 02-02-2009, 06:42 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
i think 4wheeler mag. did a product test on this a year or so ago and they really liked it.

the one thing I would have to say bad about it is what do you do with all the crap (fishing poles, coolers, skin diving gear, what ever else you might have back there)you had in your bed after you set up the tent.
Old 02-03-2009, 04:43 AM

Put that money into getting a regular cap for the truck. either aluminum or fiberglass...whichever you like better. Then you can keep your gear dry. I have an 04 and sleep in the bed when i camp. I just put a futon mattress in the bed of it. If you dont like the idea of having a cap on all the time. look into a canbak, bestop, or softopper. that way you can easily take it down or off most of the time and you can still drive around with it up unlike the sportz tent. I do want to get one of the bed air mattresses though they look comfy.
Old 02-03-2009, 05:40 AM

Originally Posted by HazMat