Maintenance & Repair Archives Note: This section will be merged in with the other tech areas soon, and is now closed

Spark Plug Reccomendations 22re

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2002, 03:48 PM
Contributing Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Spark Plug Reccomendations 22re

Anyone have any thoughts or good experiences with certain brand of spark plugs. I just remember the one time I went to get some plugs and the guy didn't want to sell me bosch platinum's cause he said it would do no good to buy them prolly do harm.... funny thing is that I've been running them for about 2 years.

So I guess what I'm getting at does the spark plug matter? Does it improve Hp or is it just a myth like alot claim the k&n filter Hp gains to be.
Old 07-28-2002, 09:43 PM
Co-Founder/Administrator
Staff

Received 19 Likes on 15 Posts
When I had my 22RE I experimented with a few different types including the Bosch Plats with one prong, not the new 4 prongers.

I did not have much luck with them. I ended up going back with the stock Nippon Denso's, and that worked out best.
They hardly showed any signs of wear, even after lots of miles.
I also run the Denso's in the V6 now and whenever a set comes out, they look great, even after a few years.

Same with wires, cap, and rotor, I only use Toyota tune-up parts.
Use to use the Toy oil filter too, but have since switched over to the Amsoil one. It filters down a lot smaller particles than the Toyota filter can.

As far as a plug improving your performance, I don't think so.
You will see a perf jump if your old plugs were bad.
Performance Products carries those Split Fire plugs they rave about, and I have heard from several to stay away from them.
It's hype.
Old 07-28-2002, 11:21 PM
Contributing Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post