Notices
Buying & Selling Advice - Feeler/Gauging Interest This general forum is for those seeking information about buying, model features/differences, pricing to sell, and related advice

3rd Gen 4Runner versus '96-7 Land Cruiser

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-2011, 06:31 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
3rd Gen 4Runner versus '96-7 Land Cruiser

Newbie here. I've been having a fun time with a newly acquired '96 4Runner, (winch has paid for itself many times) but now it's time to decide what's in my best interest.
Here's the scenario: I've got a commuter car that's worth more for me to keep than sell, but I need a truck for truck stuff and I've taken interest with off-roading. Using the 4Runner as a secondary vehicle for Fridays and weekends is fun, but I'll need to start pouring money into her for a little more substantial off-roading.

In order to get the 4Runner up to a minimal standard, I need some BFG MT's or AT's, sliders (my running boards are looking bad), and of course install a rear diff lock, as it was not included on my particular vehicle. Sure I can do all this, and cut my costs but we're still around $2K for extras on a SUV with 195K miles, and a automatic tranny that I haven't accessed. . . yet. So, there lies the dilemma, do I keep it, or invest in something else?