93-98 T100s All T100 trucks

At a loss on 96 T100 rough running

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2012, 06:41 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
At a loss on 96 T100 rough running

Ok, I'm new to Toy's but not new to overall vehicle tech.
I've searched until my eyes hurt on the 3.4 rough idle/running problems and couldn't come up with any conclusive information.
I just bought this truck yesterday, has 189K and v6 automatic.
Things I have done thus far:
1) checked all air/vacuum lines, I even sprayed wd40 while running to see if it helped detect a leak.
2) installed new spark plugs
3) read codes, misfire on 1 & 2
4) cleaned throttle body, mass air, and tps
5) cleared codes and CEL, ran around the yard and CEL came back on, misfire on #1
My next step is going to be new plug wires and boots
I am thinking I could check the radiator for exhaust but as near as I can tell levels are good. The kid I bought it from didn't drive it hardly at all, he never registered it and he bought it in Dec. 11.
Any other suggestions?
thanks,
dave

ps, I have noticed on a lot of the threads on this problem that the issue is either never fixed or the poster never reports back to say what they did to fix the problem.
Old 05-08-2012, 07:52 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Running rough at startup (cold) or when it's warm?

Are you sure the spark plug wires are hooked up correctly? 1 and 4, 3 and 6, 5 and 2. Odd numbered plugs have the coil on plug (COP).

Misfire on #1 and #2 would indicate 2 possible problems. Did you check the spark plug boot on the COPs to make sure they weren't cracked? Remove them from the coil and clean them up carefully. You can git replacements from Advanced Auto...call them fer availability. Did you try swapping the #1 COP with one of the other ones and see if the problem follows the COP?

Did you check/clean the idle air control (IAC) valve? Did you check it to make sure the shutter had the full range of motion?