General Electrical & Lighting Related Topics Ask here for electrical, wiring, and lighting info for your rig that could apply to all years
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Trailer Lighting Problem

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2007, 08:11 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Trailer Lighting Problem

I got a new trailer and the wiring seems to be giving me a little trouble. When I don't have the headlights on everything seems to work fine(brake,left,right) on the trailer. When I turn the headlights on none of the lights on the trailer work. I have a standard 4 prong trailer connector (3 male and one female). I was thinking my brown wire might not be connected to the wrong wire in my truck but any thoughts on what might be causing the problem?

Thanks!
Old 05-26-2007, 06:08 AM

Hi. I've been pulling a trailer with a Toyota truck for 13 years.

You didn't mention whether you have an OEM wiring harness for your 4Runner, or if the wiring is the standardized colors which should match the trailer.

I'd crawl underneath and make sure the colors match leaving your 4runner and entering the trailer plug. You're right, the brown wire carries the current for the lights. The brown wire should be the one right next to the ground white wire.

Make sure the white wire is grounded to the trailer. Should be attached to a bolt next to the trailer tongue.

I'd get a multimeter and test the three connections coming out of the 4runner plug for current.

If there's no current in the one next to the ground (which is the brown wire), it might be because of corrosion in the pre-harness connection, which should be found about a foot or so above the plug, if you have a pre-harness connection.

Otherwise, the brown wire might be grounding out somewhere. I'd check the area where the harness enters the cab, which should be below the drivers seat.

Hope this helps.
Old 05-26-2007, 06:55 AM