General Vehicle Related Topics (Non Year Related) If topic doesn't apply to Toyotas whatsoever, it should be in Off Topic

Herculiner questions

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2007, 08:43 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Herculiner questions

I know that there have been various writeups and such on herculiner, but I cant seem to find any when searching. Now I know that someone will post like 50 links to past threads answering most of my questions, but at the risk of getting flamed, I'll ask anyway.

I have no experience with paint/body work and am a little nervous using my baby as a ginuea pig. Up at the local Pep Boys they're running a sale on those DIY Herculiner kits, and with the snow season aproaching, I figured now's the time to stop dragging my feet on this. SO here's my questions:

1) What grit sandpaper is best to use? (I am planning on doing the bed and then a strip on the lower quarter running from front to rear bumper)

2) What is xylenol/xylene? They recommend using it, only problem is I dont really know what it is or how to apply it

3) Will the amount of Herculiner they provide in the kit be enough to cover a standard bed plus the other areas I want to cover? I figured it might because Toyota's are narrower than most full-size trucks.

4) Is there anything that I will need to get that is not included in the kit?

Any information is greatly appreciated. Thanks
Old 10-09-2007, 08:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1) If you get the entire kit, it comes with I think it was 2 pieces of the sanding tool you need, I know for a fact it's at least one.
2) I used Acetone, it's the same thing. I put in on an old rag and wiped my car down with it. It dries itself and i think that's all you do with that.
3) The amount they give you, if you get the gallon kit, should be enough. I coated my rockers/tailgate up to the body line, and put 3 coats on each and i still had 1/3 of a gallon left.