General Vehicle Related Topics (Non Year Related) If topic doesn't apply to Toyotas whatsoever, it should be in Off Topic

4k upgrade how to make it count

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2006, 10:15 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
4k upgrade how to make it count

Hey, my name is zack I'm new to the toyota truck world. All thought not new to the automotive forum. Here the deal I'v got a budget of 4k to spend in upgrades on my truck. It a 1999 toyota tacoma extra cam TRD V6. IF this was a car my first investment would be a exausht and a intake system. Followed with some coilovers. But this is'nt car. And I'm not going to lie and tell you I know any thing about trucks. I'm looking for more power but want to also increase my suspension. Please e-mail me or post some idea or thought. I appreciate it. PS whats a turbo kit run for if some knows
Old 04-16-2006, 10:20 AM
Contributing Member

run a true flow air filter or Amsoil.
do a search for the deckplate mod.

don't waste your $$$ on an FIPK.
my buddy localmotion has a new magnaflow muffler for sale too.

OME makes great suspension and check the vendor advertising section for some great prices on a lift....

other companies that sell lifts are:
Old man Emu
All-Pro
Downey
Marlin Crawler

and search for the Tundra/TRD thread...a lot of reading, but great info and a great setup.

welcome to YT too

Last edited by FilthyRich; 04-16-2006 at 10:21 AM.
Old 04-16-2006, 10:55 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Welcome to the club! Have you visited TTORA? www.ttora.com. You and I can find more Tacoma related stuff there. Yotatech is awesome, but it leans toward 4Runners.
6 months ago my answer to your request would have been different. I spent a lot of time debating a supercharger, which you could do for $4k (much less if you install it yourself) then decided against it. If you seriously want power gains, this is the only way. don't waste your time with chips or dual exhaust or any crap like that.