Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

Replaced Circuit Opening Relay now no power at all? Please help!

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2016, 07:38 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Replaced Circuit Opening Relay now no power at all? Please help!

Hey guys!
So, I'm kind of new to all of this. Turning 17 in April so I figured I'd try to get my dads old 4Runner going that has been sitting in our shed for close to 12 years.
Keep in mind that I'm a pretty big newb when it comes to stuff like this. I've never done anything this big, but I think I'm doing pretty good so far.

Anyways, I had to replace the fuel pump, starter, and slave cylinder. Also had to replace a few hoses but all in all I got it going in a couple of days. The problem is I could only get the fuel pump to turn on if I jumped Fp and B+. I did some research and from what I could tell it was a problem with the Circuit Opening Relay.

I actually have 2 4Runners, so I'm using the other one for parts. I took the relay out of that one to put it into the one that runs but now all of a sudden I get no power. AT ALL.

Nothing lights up, nothing turns on. I had the stereo going up until I replaced the COR (I of course disconnected the battery before taking it out) so I'm kind of worried I screwed something up.
My dad died in 05, so I'm somewhat on my own with this and learning as I go.
Any help would be MUCH appreciated. I just hope I didn't make a huge mistake when I was taking the COR out.
Thanks
- Stuart
Old 03-28-2016, 11:31 PM
Super Moderator
Staff

Received 22 Likes on 20 Posts