Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

Newbie with timing chain question

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2008, 09:06 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newbie with timing chain question

Hi guys,

I am new to this forum and I can't believe the information that is available here!

I wonder if someone could provide me with a couple of answers. Keep in mind that I am by no means a mechanic, nor do I have much mechanical know how or ability.
I recently purchased a 91 pick-up (22R-E) from a friend of mine. I am having to replace the head gasket (just changed the gasket in my '90 4Runner) and my mechanic started asking me about the timing chain.

He is suggesting that the chain be replaced, but tells me that it is a 13 hour book job, which means that I'll have more invested in the T.C. and H.G. than I do in the whole truck.

Question, is the chain an interference timing chain, or a non-interference chain? and does his assment of changing the chain sound reasonable?

thanks guys!

Last edited by Thomps; 04-03-2008 at 09:27 AM.
Old 04-03-2008, 09:13 AM
MSR

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
1: where are you located?

2: how many miles are on the engine

3: it is an interference engine if the chain breaks you have a 50% chance of beating your valves to death

4: thank your friend
Old 04-03-2008, 09:24 AM

yeah

located in Ontario.

the truck has 215,000 kms on it (what is that, about 130,000 mi?????) and is in really good shape. I knew I was taking my chances with the head gasket ( I knew it had coolant in the oil) but hadn't really counted on the timing chain. He isn't malicious by any means, and was probably as ignorant about the Timing Chain as I am.

btw. What do you mean a 50% chance? It was my understanding that if it is an interference chain, if it goes, I am the proud owner of a really big paper weight?!

Last edited by Thomps; 04-03-2008 at 09:25 AM.
Old 04-03-2008, 09:30 AM
MSR