86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Squeeky Belt or ?

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2022, 05:12 PM

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Squeeky Belt or ?

Recently replaced a number of things on my 1990 4Runner 22RE (5spd man) including timing chain, cover, oil/water pumps, oil pan gasket, belts and a few other things. After starting to drive it a bit it started making what sounded like a slipping fan belt sound. Assuming it was a belt and finding that the inside belt (alternator) definitely seemed loose I tightened that one up (that particular belt is somewhat painful to adjust). The sound persisted so I then also tightened up the other belt a bit (very easy to adjust by way of the tensioner). Squeeling still happening. So, I had another go at the alt belt and snugged up a bit more (thinking it was still maybe a bit loose). Still squeeling! I am no expert on belt tension, however, they certainly seem snug enough to me. Also, I get the squeeling most of the time I am driving, however, if I am just idling in the driveway and and rev the engine I can't seem to get the squeel (should that tell me anything?). Anyways, does anyone have any ideas/suggestions on what else I might try? Thank you for any tips/suggestions you may have. Thanks!
Old 01-30-2022, 04:19 AM

Received 134 Likes on 114 Posts
Usually when I get the squeal it is from the alternator belt. Not on my 92 22RE truck, but on other cars I have had alternator squeal because the bearing in the alternator was bad.

Old 01-30-2022, 06:49 AM

Received 13 Likes on 10 Posts
I've had this happen when the bearing in the tensioner pulley started seizing up. Easy to replace the bearing w/o buying the entire pulley assembly.
Old 01-30-2022, 11:48 AM

Received 637 Likes on 513 Posts
^^This.