86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Sounds like a diesel!!

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2007, 05:23 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Sounds like a diesel!!

Ok guys, I know Im still a newbie here, But I've spent hours upon hours reading on this forum and figured Id post about my tapping woes! I just bought my Yota 3 weeks ago, Its an 86 22R carbed. When I first started it up I noticed it rattled really bad, It seriously almost sounded like a diesel. After 3 weeks, I've done a full tune up, oil change and seafoam treatment and the rattle is still the same. Its a very consistant tick tick tick at idle. Doesnt change warm or cold. If you tap the gas you get a quick rattle (faster tapping) and goes back to the steady tick. (Its LOUD, people have asked if it was a diesel) I know the truck has an exhaust leak, but you can hear that and theres 2 different ticks going on. Plus I dont think an exhaust leak would have a rattle. This truck has 246,000 on it, But I have receipts that came with the truck that show this motor only has 46,000 on a reman. So I would think the timing chain and guides would still be fine. The previous owner was pretty anal about this truck and the thing was spotless and well maintained, but he never mentioned the tick. I know 22rs are noisy, my roomate has a 94 But this is killing me cause I love this truck and am driving 80 miles a day sometimes more (I've put 1300 miles on it in 3 weeks). Just wondering if you guys have any suggestions!

Last edited by ShortyzKustomz; 03-04-2007 at 05:26 PM.
Old 03-04-2007, 05:28 PM

These engines just tick....I dont know why, they just do! There is nothing wrong with it though!
Old 03-04-2007, 05:34 PM

ITs alot worse then my roomates 94 Though. I've had people look over at me at stoplights, It runs great though, and pulls hard. My roomies tick fades a little after warm up, mine doesnt
Old 03-04-2007, 05:38 PM