86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Enhancing 4runner power mpg

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2012, 12:10 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Enhancing 4runner power mpg

So i've heard a lot about bigger gears, maf sensors, ISR mods, my question is I have a 94 4runner v6 and i have the 3.90 gears in it ( not 4.10) and from what i'm reading is if I upgrade to say 4.56 or 4.88 it would boost power, and possible to boost mpg a little.

I'm running stock size tires and it is an automatic.
I'm going to be doing a full tuneup soon and swaping in a supra maf sensor as well as doing the ISR mod.

Maybe headers? Maybe not, who knows... and of course the exhaust system upgrade.

I'm currently getting 15.4mpg and I'm a VERY light driver. So assuming I did all of these upgrades, i'm sure I could see a decent increase in power/mpg with my driving style.

However the purpose of this post is to find out would it be a waste to throw some 4.56 or 4.88 on my truck if i'm running stock tire size? Or would it actually be beneficial? Also its a 2wd 4runner.

Thanks for your advise!

Last edited by Joe86; 05-01-2012 at 12:11 PM.
Old 05-01-2012, 12:49 PM

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
swap in a 3.4

exhaust is probably the 'best' power mod but still weak.

Alcohol injection helps, I run a 50/50 mix of methanol and dH2O; cleans, lowers emissions, adds power, improves mpgs.... (sorry, I'm just on a mission to promote alky injection, I'm addicted)

this should get you going...
https://www.yotatech.com/forums/f116...r-3vze-220853/
Old 05-01-2012, 12:52 PM

and here's a worthy read:

https://www.yotatech.com/forums/f116...k-3vze-187741/
Old 05-01-2012, 01:32 PM

Thanks for your reply however that did not answer my question.

My question again is will the 4.56 or 4.88 help the truck or not versus the stock 3.90?