Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

'86 22RE... Busted timing chain. What to do about valves?

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2017, 01:20 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'86 22RE... Busted timing chain. What to do about valves?

Little brother in law just got his first pickup - an '86 4x4 with the automatic and the 22RE. Paid $600 for it just a few weeks ago. Other day, it died and wouldn't start. Long story short, I pulled the valve cover and the timing chain is busted. I understand that this is an interference engine, so more than likely, we have a few bent valves. I'm fairly competent with a wrench, and I used to have a 22R '84 pickup that I did pretty extensive engine work on, but I'm not sure how to proceed. (took the head to a machine shop, so I have very little experience with the top end of things.) Besides putting a new timing kit on (obviously with the new metal guides) I think I could either:
  1. Pull off the head and take it to a machine shop to have them repair it -- changing valves as needed, etc.
  2. Try to do the valve job myself -- I don't have experience with this. Any idea how difficult it is?
  3. Purchase a new head with valves in, or
  4. Leave the head on and hope the valves aren't bent too badly. (we're not actually going to do this)
  5. Something else? I'm open to suggestions!
Leaning to the first option, but concerned about cost.

Also, what all would you all replace while while this far in? Water pump, head gasket, intake and exhaust gaskets, (and all other gaskets) obviously. Front main seal (needs replaced anyway). How about oil pump? Do these need replaced periodically? How about distributor components, spark plugs, and wires?

Also, my 22R was a carburated engine. Don't have much experience working on the EFI version -- any special precautions I need to take?
Old 08-12-2017, 07:23 PM

Received 606 Likes on 442 Posts