84-85 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd gen pickups and 1st gen 4Runners with solid front axles

Ride Quality?

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2008, 09:19 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I have new shocks on my '84 Runner but the springs are "saggy"... Is it ok to install OME springs and a new set of 4.5" shackles, without replacing the shocks?
Old 01-31-2008, 01:07 PM

Originally Posted by grovedogg
I have new shocks on my '84 Runner but the springs are "saggy"... Is it ok to install OME springs and a new set of 4.5" shackles, without replacing the shocks?
I would not think so the Lift Kit will make the stock shocks too short.
Old 01-31-2008, 09:16 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Stock length shocks will limit travel because OME's are about a 2" lift.
Also, OME designs their shocks to work with their springs and vice versa, so you wont be getting the "full sh-bang" if you dont get the shocks as well. It's a full system.
Old 02-01-2008, 07:39 AM

Thanks fellas, I am a newbie with the 4x4 setup, been a 2wd kinda guy for a long time.
Yota's are eff'en awesome! I just picked mine up from the guy sellin that 84 Runner on craigslist as well as YT. Solid little truck...
Old 02-02-2008, 10:30 PM

Thanks fellas, I am a newbie with the 4x4 setup, been a 2wd kinda guy for a long time.
Yota's are eff'en awesome! I just picked mine up from the guy sellin that 84 Runner on craigslist as well as YT. Solid little truck...
I am a little new too, No problem. Better to ask than not and make a mistake. I have only ben woring on my 4x4 for 1.5 years but Hot rods for 46 Years. I was not able to take my Yota to the snow today bummer!
Old 02-18-2008, 07:56 PM

It looks like I might need a new tranny. How do you identfy them?
Old 02-18-2008, 10:27 PM

Originally Posted by RandyatBBY
It looks like I might need a new tranny. How do you identfy them?
This is always a good place to start:

http://www.marlincrawler.com/htm/tra...ansmission.htm
Old 02-19-2008, 06:45 AM