84-85 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd gen pickups and 1st gen 4Runners with solid front axles

My rear is sagging. '85 4runner

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2007, 04:44 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My rear is sagging. '85 4runner

Hi, I'm new to Toyotas and 4x4's in general (my first) but for a while now needed a 4x4 suv so after some research and looking i found what I was after.

Got a good deal on it and in less then a month I've put a new clutch in, new exhaust (passed emissions today with no cat and a cherry bomb!), new brake and clutch masters, new radiator and hoses, tune up, and also today swapped my 33's for a set of 31's (i like the handling so much more!).

Its a blast to drive now that I have it in good running order and I've been very happy with parts availibility and prices as well as the Toyota dealer and this forum. Overall, I am very pleased with my Toyota experience.

Now I am turning a little towards the secondary/cosmetic matters on the rig.

I don't like the way the rear sags and was wondering on what my options are as far as cost/labor involved in not only leveling it out but maybe even giving it a little bit of a rake. The truck has a 4" body lift.

Also, rear window does now roll down. Any suggestions? Tried to hotwire the motor but I could not get it to work.

Here are a few pics with the 33's, don't have any with the new 31's yet.... but, I did look way cooler with the bigger tires, too bad it handled like crap.

Thanks for any input, Pete

Last edited by michalik_piotr; 05-01-2007 at 07:23 AM.
Old 04-08-2007, 04:53 PM

Pete,
As for the rear, get an add-a-leaf. When you read the directions it tells you take take one leaf out and replace it with the Add-a-leaf...DON'T!!! Get longer u-bolts and add the extra leaf in, leaving all the origionals plus one, and that will give you a little higher than stock height.