Tool Time Discussions here pertain to the use of tools you use while fabbing and wrenching in the garage

Table saw recommendations for laminate flooring install

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2006, 12:58 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I've had Armstrong down for about 5 years in my "kid area" (their bedroom, playroom, hallway and closets). It has held up well - it's no hardwood, but it isn't priced like hardwood either. I put the blue plastic/jute stuff under it and it is really nice underfoot.
Old 03-15-2006, 04:10 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I have been a flooring installer for 30 some years. Done about every type of flooring there is [aside from tile/marble/granite]. Makita makes a nice little 1000rpm [no-load] saw that works pretty good for the end cuts, but that's about all I used it for. As for the angles. I have always preferred a good sliding compound mitre. There's nothing that beats a quality saw for a professional final product.

As far as the lay-out goes, consider buying some 1/8th" door skin material. When you lay it out, use 1/4" pieces of wood to get the correct spacing from the exterior walls. I use the door skin as my template. Cut the door skin into 2" wide strips the full length [8'] and lay them out to the 1/4" blocks. As you lay-out the perimiter, attach them together with a glue gun at the corners using 4" scraps of the 1/8" door skin. Do the whole area. Depending on the size of the area, a bevel square might be a faster way when it comes to the corners.

I have even went to the extent of taping all the pieces [flooring] together and have had the tolerances be 1/32nd or less.
When you're building the template, make sure that it all fits EXACTLY as you want the final appearance to be.....sanding to shape if needed to conform to the curvatures and maintaining the needed spacing.

When it's all done you'll have a complete pattern of the area and you can cut it all out using a router as all your pieces are taped together in the finished form.