YotaTech Forums  

Go Back   YotaTech Forums > Electronics > GPS & Communication
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


GPS & Communication Discussions here pertain to the use and troubleshooting of GPS, CB radio, and amateur radio

Welcome to Yotatech!
Welcome to Yotatech,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-29-2012, 07:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
redbayredneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Red Bay, NW Forida
Posts: 412
Amplifier

I'm looking for an amp for my radio, I am currently pushing a 4 watts through a 200 watt amp and have been told that that is too much input power and I need my radio turned down. but Nobody in this area works on the type of radio I have.

I'm about to get a radio that pushes 10 watts, and I want to find an amp that can handle this input.


Anyone know where to find these?
There is a guy nearby that works on Galaxy radios and sells amps, but he is near impossible to get up with. So I'm hunting an online option.
This ad is not displayed to registered members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Yotatech!
__________________
-1985 Xtra Cab SR5 4x4 22RE Stock 31/10.50 AT's
-2008 Tundra Double-Cab 4x4 5.7L i-Force. beat up
redbayredneck is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 08:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 201
if you're not going to get the radio output turned down then you're probably going to want to get a HD (high drive) amp. they're designed to take the input from a radio w/o having to drop the output (within reason).
Merlin is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 04:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
redbayredneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Red Bay, NW Forida
Posts: 412
I've heard of high drive amps, I just can't seem to find any for sale. I was wondering if anyone knew where to find them.
__________________
-1985 Xtra Cab SR5 4x4 22RE Stock 31/10.50 AT's
-2008 Tundra Double-Cab 4x4 5.7L i-Force. beat up
redbayredneck is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 11:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 201
IIRC, X-Force has some models, MagnaForce has some, Texas Star has some HD models. X-Force/MagnaForce used to make decent quality boxes, with HD models in their lineup. I used to run an X-Force 200HD box. Not sure about quality now, though.

TS used to make several HD models as well, decent quality (at least better than the rebadged generic amps - there were several different brands of amps that were all pretty much the same thing, right down to the faceplate - only the name of the company screened on the faceplate was different).

If you want to really get serious, you could look at comp boxes like davemade or fatboy.

as long as you get a reasonable wattage, you can get by with a stock alternator, but you may want to upgrade your battery.
Merlin is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 03:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
redbayredneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Red Bay, NW Forida
Posts: 412
Thanks for the info, I am definately going to get one for my Galaxy in my '85. I might just try to figure out how to turn down the Cobra to feed the standard amp I have.
__________________
-1985 Xtra Cab SR5 4x4 22RE Stock 31/10.50 AT's
-2008 Tundra Double-Cab 4x4 5.7L i-Force. beat up
redbayredneck is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 07:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 201
if you can't get a tech to do it, if you are electronically inclined and can get a meter and google the schematics, you can figure out which pot to turn down (IIRC, on some cobras and similar model unidens, it's VR13).

most people say look for a 1:4 swing ratio to drive the amp (for the cobra 148s we used to turn them down to 1.2-1.3 watts deadkey).

caveat: if you're not sure, don't do it...
Merlin is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 07:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
redbayredneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Red Bay, NW Forida
Posts: 412
I don't have any techs nearby that work on Cobra's. (Mine is a newer 148 gtl) I might hunt down a meter and some schematics. I've been meaning to learn more about radios, I reckon right now would be a good place to start.

Thanks again for all the information.
__________________
-1985 Xtra Cab SR5 4x4 22RE Stock 31/10.50 AT's
-2008 Tundra Double-Cab 4x4 5.7L i-Force. beat up
redbayredneck is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 07:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 201
ah, a 148 GTL is a popular radio. lots of schematics and mods listed all over the net. just make sure you double-check your sources. sometimes the am power is listed as VR11 and sometimes it's listed as VR10 (not sure which is correct, but i'm sure there are typos out there and it wouldn't hurt to double-check which VR to turn down before you actually start getting in there and messing w/ stuff).
Merlin is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 07:32 PM
Yotatech
4WD Truck




Paid Advertisement
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:25 PM.


2010 InternetBrands, Inc.

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2