Vehicle Audio & Home Entertainment Discussions here pertain to vehicle stereo systems and home entertainment systems

I havnt any idea what kind of amp to get

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2011, 07:22 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I havnt any idea what kind of amp to get

I have little car audio knowledge for what I want to do. I have a 10 inch Blaupunkt sub that I am gonna build a custom box for. Its gonna go in my 87 single cab. What do yall recommend for an amp? I want one that will help out my 6x9s and my in dash speakers too.
Old 04-12-2011, 12:55 PM

any 4 channel should do. just use the front slots for your 6 x 9s and bridge the rears together for the sub. you might need a deck that has 2 sets of pre outs though.. im not 100% sure if you can use the sub pre outs into the amp and work it properly bridged
Old 04-12-2011, 01:51 PM

If i was you i would go with a mono amp to run the sub and get a smaller 300 watt or so and run the highs off of it would prob sound so much better you could have your sub getn all bass and your other speakers getn the sound. Your deck would have to have two sets of pre amp outputs if i aint mistaken 1 set should be a high out put and the other should be for the lows.
Old 04-12-2011, 02:09 PM

I think my deck has two pre outs. Not sure though I will have to look. Thx for the info guys
Old 04-12-2011, 02:18 PM

no prob still dont see how you going to fit a 10 in sub in a single cab lol id like to see some pics when you get it in there may do my truck the stock speakers just dont cut it lol
Old 04-12-2011, 03:00 PM

Originally Posted by baddest94
no prob still dont see how you going to fit a 10 in sub in a single cab lol id like to see some pics when you get it in there may do my truck the stock speakers just dont cut it lol