The Fab Shop Tube buggies, armor protection and anything else that requires cutting, welding, or custom fab work

Rear bumper/OBA tank for my '83

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2010, 08:01 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rear bumper/OBA tank for my '83

I wanted to make a stronger bumper to replace the aluminum tube bumper on my '83, so I decided on a 4"x6" rectangular steel tube bumper that would double as an OBA tank. It's pretty much going to directly replace the OEM bumper but will be more squared and bulkier. (Yes, Slacker, you have dibs on my OEM.)
I'm an electrician and I suck at welding, but fortunately I work with Mel, who has 35 years of welding experience. We got pretty far on it at work today, here's some pics of what we've come up with so far.

4"x6"x3/16" Rectangular. Cutting the cosmetic angles on the ends:

The mounting brackets were my only contribution, not bad for an amateur:

Working on the ends:

Mel had the idea to weld the brackets onto plates instead of directly to the tube:

Where we're at to this point:

Next weekend, we will be working on the shackle mounts, hitch receiver, and air fittings. My question is, what size shackles should I use? I found a set of 3/4" at work and they look HUGE. Would the next size down be good enough or do I need the 3/4" ones? Remember we're only dealing with 3/16" tubing here. Thanks for looking!

Last edited by hyzerponix; 12-05-2010 at 08:08 PM.
Old 12-06-2010, 05:01 PM

looks good .... should hold a decent amount of air as well ...
Old 12-06-2010, 05:49 PM

Received 274 Likes on 185 Posts
Thank you for remembering me ... and let me know .

I knew you would replace that one ... New one is looking stout , cant wait to see it finished

Old 12-06-2010, 06:38 PM

Slacker, I'm keeping the frame brackets but the rest of the bumper is yours if you want it. PM me and we'll work a deal out.