The Fab Shop Tube buggies, armor protection and anything else that requires cutting, welding, or custom fab work

Frame Rust (first time poster)

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2008, 05:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Frame Rust (first time poster)

Ok, so My family has owned a 88' 4Runner since they came out and i am in love with it even with all the criticisms i get for it being a rice burner, but who cares its amazing. The most apparent problem other than the engine and transmission needing to be rebuilt is i have a fist sized or larger hole in the front right of my frame. I have no clue where to start or what to look for online. Some guys i talked to said no mechanic would touch it for liability reasons, is this true? if so what do i do since i have no experience with a welder and im a college student. I plan on working on the car this summer since im away ay college and it wouldn't make the distance.

Also is going to a toyota dealer a good choice for getting help with the engine and transmission?
Old 10-21-2008, 05:58 PM

You need to inspect the rest of the frame for rot during one of your holiday breaks. Locate a competent welder in your area and see if the frame can be patched or if it is time to cut your losses and send it across the scales.

I have an Advanced Auto rebuilt engine which runs very well. My dad had someone install it.

Welcome to YT!
Old 10-23-2008, 06:33 AM

How do you check for rot in the rest of the frame? I don't think cutting a strip along both sides of the frame is what i need to do unless it is. Also If i were to post pictures of the frame from front to back on both sides would that help? and would i have to be concerned with rust inside the frame if i could patch it all up?

Thanks and im already taking pointers from other posts!
Old 10-23-2008, 07:06 AM