The Fab Shop Tube buggies, armor protection and anything else that requires cutting, welding, or custom fab work

'92 pickup front bumper build

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-2008, 06:18 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
To be airtight for internal pressure your welds need to be nearly perfect. I'm a quality engineer and designer for an ASME pressure vessel shop and you'd be suprised to see the excellent "looking" welds that leak. Pinholes that you cannot even visibly see will leak. What PSI are you planning on having.
Old 06-10-2008, 02:07 PM

Originally Posted by Whitey13
I applaud your effort. If I may ask/offer constructive criticism; aren't these braces going to kill your approach angle?
It's about the same as stock. They stick out a little further, but don't go down as far as the stock bumper. The way I see it, I'd much rather have a slighly worse approach angle that I'm not afraid to crunch, than a better angle that I don't want to risk scraping.

Originally Posted by boice1971
To be airtight for internal pressure your welds need to be nearly perfect. I'm a quality engineer and designer for an ASME pressure vessel shop and you'd be suprised to see the excellent "looking" welds that leak. Pinholes that you cannot even visibly see will leak. What PSI are you planning on having.
No kidding it is hard to get it airtight! I was planning on running about 120 PSI, but I'm starting to give up on that idea. Too many pinholes. Plus I don't have a real need for it now. When it comes time to get onboard air, I think I may just go with a powertank.
Old 06-10-2008, 02:46 PM
tc
Contributing Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
As an owner of an air tank bumper, hopefully it's not too late to chime in:

Originally Posted by abj27