Offroad Tech Discussion pertaining to additions or questions which improve off-road ability, recovery and safety, such as suspension, body lifts, lockers etc
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Wheeling with an automatic transmission?

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2007, 12:55 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Wheeling with an automatic transmission?

I have 91' Toyota xcab with the 3.0 v6 and automatic transmission. I am in the process of putting in the 529 gearing, ARB front, Detroit rear. I already did the 63" Chevy's in the rear and the s.a.s. My question is; will the automatic (stock) transmission be strong enough and do they make a duel transfer case kit for this or do I even need one? I am new to the Toyota Wheeling. I have been a hardcore Jeeper rock crawler for many years and am changing to Toyota. I have an automatic in my jeep and love it (effortless). I would like to stay with the auto in the Toyota but not sure about reliability.
Does anybody have any input??
Old 08-06-2007, 01:09 PM

A lot of the guys here like their autos. Some of the 3rd gen guys started experimenting with upgrades after they installed superchargers. I think Level 10 was one of the more popular companies. I think the stock auto can work as long as you upgrade its cooling. Sounds like you are going to have an awesome truck. Oh yeah - Look into Marlin Crawler to see if there is a way to dual case your truck.
Old 08-06-2007, 03:00 PM

Inchworm makes adapters for duals

I wheel an auto/3.0, I like it in its stock form. I wheel sloppy, tight, midwest trails and like having some wheel speed. Oh and it is MORE than strong enough.
Old 08-06-2007, 03:22 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
You shouldn't have a problem.

I've had more 4wd trucks/SUVs with manual transmissions than with automatics. Overall, I've had fewer problems with the automatics. My experiences may be a fluke, but they are what they are.