Offroad Tech Discussion pertaining to additions or questions which improve off-road ability, recovery and safety, such as suspension, body lifts, lockers etc
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What can a stock 4Runner do "Offroading" wise?

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2008, 07:45 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
What can a stock 4Runner do "Offroading" wise?

I am new to 4Runners and Offroading in general, but I was wondering what a completely stock '89 4Runner could do. I want to test out the 4wd and have some fun but I don't really know what the limits are. The car would be my daily driver so nothing too crazy that could possibly break my car but what are some suggestions for Offroading. Should I avoid water and mud? Should I use paths? Anything is appreciated and I look forward to enjoying the 4wd capabilities!
Old 07-13-2008, 07:52 PM

As far as mud and water, nothing above the front bumper, your air intake is right behind the headlight so if you go any deeper than that then you could hydro-lock. Search that if you dont know what that is. Id stick to more basic paths untill you get a feel for it. Your biggest problem is going to be ground clearance. Id say flex but youd sooner hit the front cross member on somthing before you starting getting on possible flopping angles. A decent set of tires would go a long way if your running like all seasons or whatever too. Do you have any pics of your 4runner?
Old 07-13-2008, 07:54 PM

Being new to 4 wheeling I would definately start out simple. Get in touch with a local 4wheel drive club possibly a nearby ttora (www.tacomaterritory.com), they are usually very helpfull for all types of Toyotas and trails. Your stock toyota is a very capable wheeler depending on driver skill and the limits you are willing to push. Paths (better known as trails) should always be used and not strayed from, (unless its your land or you have permission from someone that owns the land). As always, be safe, have fun and tread lightly.