Offroad Tech Discussion pertaining to additions or questions which improve off-road ability, recovery and safety, such as suspension, body lifts, lockers etc
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Dual Battery Installation FAQ

Search this Thread

Old 12-14-2005, 03:56 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by MNBOY
I think this is bad advice. You had something else going on in your vehicle beyond "dueling batteries. Every boat I've owned, and every one I've done battery installations into, has had multiple batteries in one bank that were not isolated. My current boat has 2 big 8D sized AGM batteries that have been hooked together continuously for 4 years now with no issues. Match the size, type, and age of the multiple batteries and you should have no problems.

agreed...... an isolator or a solenoid is a good idea simply to seperate the batteries when everything is off so that if you drain one doing something then you wont drain the other........ thats all. i work in the RV industry and we install 2 batteries in just about everything and they last for years.
Old 12-14-2005, 03:59 PM

has anyone installed a second alternator on their truck in addition to putting 2 batteries in???? my air compressors draw 60 amps right now and while the stock taco alternator can handle it i would rather have the peace of mind knowing that its being covered by either 2 alts or 1 reworked or beefy one. ive looked around at a few places and haven't found much.
Old 12-14-2005, 04:14 PM
Contributing Member

Received 29 Likes on 26 Posts
Bigger alternator works well for me:
- http://www.4crawler.com/4x4/CheapTri...orInstallation
Old 12-14-2005, 04:19 PM
Contributing Member

Just noticed this thread, so I will throw in another way of doing dual batteries...