Early Land Cruisers All solid front axles and Land Cruiser series - 25, 40, 45, 55, 60, 62, and 80

Help! I messed up my tranny...

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-2008, 11:02 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help! I messed up my tranny...

Hello all, this is my first post here. I recently bought a '96 fzj80.

This exact same post is on IH8MUD as well. I just joined there too.

I'm not a complete novice as far as mechanical things go, but I'm not the best, obviously, since, like a bonehead, I've messed up my tranny and can't figure it out.

Anyway, this is long. Sorry.

I went to change the transmission fluid out, so I drained it, took off the pan, and the filter. Well, I saw that there seemed to be alot of fluid on top of the valve body, so I took it off to drain that old fluid too. That was my first mistake.

So, a check ball connected to a plastic clip looking thing with an internal spring came out, a spring with a smaller stiffer spring inside of it came out, and the middle accumulator (I think is what it is) came out. They all fell out when I took the valve body off.

Idiot! Only now do I realize this.

So, I held the valve body up, put everything back where I think it went (and I followed the pictures from this link: https://www.yotatech.com/forums/f88/...o-swap-150243/) and screwed it back in. Put the filter on, put some new gasket maker on the pan, and put it back on.

Now, time for the 2nd mistake.

If Dexron 2 is what came in it, ATF+4 Valvoline synthetic should be better, right? Hey, I've never had an automatic tranny before, and I always ran synthetics of thicker weight in my manual trannies, except for one. So please take it easy on me. Yes, I'm an idiot.

So, I get that all done, fire it up, put it in gear, and......nothing. I give it gas and it jerks. It felt like it was slipping, trying to engage, but having a really hard time doing so.