Will a Double Din Headunit fit? - Page 3 - YotaTech Forums


Go Back   >


95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Will a Double Din Headunit fit?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-25-2009, 12:33 PM   #41
Registered User
 
Jay204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada
Posts: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rock Slide View Post
The HU install itself should be easy enough...I've ripped my dash apart at least a dozen times before

As far as the ipod cable, where is everyone routing that to? I've thought about routing it up thru the small cubby hole next to the e-brake lever...as I don't use that space much anyway. Just drill a hole in the back of it and route the cable thru it.

And yes Aaron, I will tell my wife it's all your fault.

The HU is very easy to install RS, I re-used the brackets that were on my factory HU to mount my DVD HU back in place. Takes about 10min if your wiring harness is all set to go. As for the Ipod connector I run mine through the back into my glove box. I do like the sound of your idea though...if you do that type of install post some pics of your good work!
Jay204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 01:33 PM   #42
Registered User
 
xcmountain80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jupiter, FL
Posts: 1,921
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rock Slide View Post
The HU install itself should be easy enough...I've ripped my dash apart at least a dozen times before

As far as the ipod cable, where is everyone routing that to? I've thought about routing it up thru the small cubby hole next to the e-brake lever...as I don't use that space much anyway. Just drill a hole in the back of it and route the cable thru it.

And yes Aaron, I will tell my wife it's all your fault.
Ahhh yes the hidden ipod trick, drill a hole in the florr of your center console plumb the ipod cable through then put your ipod in the small 1st layer center console compartment with a piece of foam and it wont move. Stealthy hidden and out of the way.

Aaron
xcmountain80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 11:05 AM   #43
Contributing Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Rock Slide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: B'ham, AL
Posts: 2,248
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay204 View Post
ha ha good spend more cash on that truck of yours!! It can only keep getting better right?




....still waiting to do that projector retrofit.....i'll send you a box with ALL the componants lol j/j
That's right! It just keeps getting better and better! lol Now my wife's 4Runner...that's another story.

Maybe one day I'll get around to doing that projector retrofit for you.
Rock Slide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 06:14 AM   #44
Contributing Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Rock Slide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: B'ham, AL
Posts: 2,248
Ok guys, how are you hooking up the 2 power antenna wires to your new HU? I know this is a diversity antenna setup, but my new HU only has a place for one antenna (I'm assuming the larger one plugs in there). What do I do with the smaller connector from the back glass antenna? Leave it unplugged?

Also, how do I need to wire my new wiring harness so the power antenna goes up when the radio is selected and down when the CD/ipod is selected?
Rock Slide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 08:16 AM   #45
Registered User
 
Jay204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada
Posts: 308
Humm... RS I just plugged my antenna into the one slot and left the other one out....as for the antenna going up and down....mine turns on with the radio and that is the only time it will activate....mine JUST broke last weekend so I will need to install a new one....
Jay204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 11:12 PM   #46
Registered User
 
One_96TR4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Posts: 439
just use the bigger one, I don't really notice any difference with the smaller one unpluged.
One_96TR4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 08:13 AM   #47
Registered User
 
xcmountain80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jupiter, FL
Posts: 1,921
Quote:
Originally Posted by One_96TR4 View Post
just use the bigger one, I don't really notice any difference with the smaller one unpluged.
Mybe I'm the only one with the issue as Rs hasn't installed his yet but my antenna is plugged in but it go no where, I though there was a power lead (outside of the antenna that need to be connected) as the toyota wiring harness that I picked up from Best Buy has a wire labeled power antenna.

Aaron
xcmountain80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 10:20 AM   #48
Contributing Member
iTrader: (1)
 
98SR54RUNNER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 411
Quote:
Originally Posted by xcmountain80 View Post
Mybe I'm the only one with the issue as Rs hasn't installed his yet but my antenna is plugged in but it go no where, I though there was a power lead (outside of the antenna that need to be connected) as the toyota wiring harness that I picked up from Best Buy has a wire labeled power antenna.

Aaron
My HU works the same as others have said. I just use the larger one, leave other unplugged. Antenna comes up when the HU power is on. Make sure your REMOTE wire is connected.
98SR54RUNNER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 11:22 AM   #49
Registered User
 
xcmountain80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jupiter, FL
Posts: 1,921
Quote:
Originally Posted by 98SR54RUNNER View Post
My HU works the same as others have said. I just use the larger one, leave other unplugged. Antenna comes up when the HU power is on. Make sure your REMOTE wire is connected.
Remote wire .... connected to power antenna wire?

Aaron
xcmountain80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 12:29 PM   #50
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 43
This should be the same as when i installed my avh-p3100dvd basically the same thing but with a smaller screen and bigger buttons but you connect the blue and white wire from the harness that plugs into the back of the HU with the remote wire from the best buy wiring harness, in your case, (mine was from walmart) and that big plug goes into the back of the HU IIRC. Here is a link of the wiring diagram. Go to the installation manual part and its page 7.
http://akamaipix.crutchfield.com/Man...130AVHP410.PDF
t4r505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 01:13 PM   #51
Registered User
 
xcmountain80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jupiter, FL
Posts: 1,921
Hmm yep I see that I gues when I did my video bypass I just payed no attention to the "remote wire" from the head unit that had to be spliced in to the video bypass thingy. I'll scotch lok the pwr antenna wire to the remote wire and see if that works.

Aaron
xcmountain80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 01:24 PM   #52
Contributing Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Rock Slide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: B'ham, AL
Posts: 2,248
Aaron, that's what the VM I left you yesterday was about. I found that same wiring diagram on pg 7 of the installation pamphlet that stated the blu/wht wire should be connected the the blue remote wire on the metra wiring harness. Hope my VM was not too confusing .

I've already soldered my blue wires together hoping this works like I think it should. Can't wait for YOU to try it out.
Rock Slide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 05:54 PM   #53
Registered User
 
xcmountain80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jupiter, FL
Posts: 1,921
Why do I always have to be the guinea pig? I'm not fat just big boned, and I have the big guns so someone else should certainly go 1st.

Aaron
xcmountain80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 11:36 AM   #54
Registered User
 
xcmountain80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jupiter, FL
Posts: 1,921
No dice, the blue pwr antenna wire to the remote wire does get the antenna up but it stays that way until the unit or vehicle is powered off, this will not work for me. As far as the illum wire I already have them hooked up and no control over the dimmer, now there are two orange wires on the vehicle connector side I have mine wired into the big connector not the smaller one.

Aaron
xcmountain80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 02:51 PM   #55
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 43
My bad i forgot you wanted it to only come up when the radio is on. Mine is set up to go up when the unit is on so even when an ipod/cd is playing.
t4r505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 06:45 PM   #56
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
07 highlander with an eclipse avn4430

I recent bought the Eclipse AVN 4430 navi for my 07 highlander. i brought it to a mechanic to have it put in. the car was brought back to me with the navi fully functional and everything. but it seems to be sticking out from the rest of the car quite a bit, unlike the original stereo which used to be in place. i mean i didnt expect the navi to be a perfect replacement of the stereo system in terms of size, but i also didnt expect it to stick out this much. has anyone had a similar experience? or can anyone advise?
aznyballer4eva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 07:38 PM   #57
Registered User
 
xcmountain80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jupiter, FL
Posts: 1,921
Quote:
Originally Posted by aznyballer4eva View Post
I recent bought the Eclipse AVN 4430 navi for my 07 highlander. i brought it to a mechanic to have it put in. the car was brought back to me with the navi fully functional and everything. but it seems to be sticking out from the rest of the car quite a bit, unlike the original stereo which used to be in place. i mean i didnt expect the navi to be a perfect replacement of the stereo system in terms of size, but i also didnt expect it to stick out this much. has anyone had a similar experience? or can anyone advise?

I shopped my depth prior to ordering a HU, I've seen similar HU's in other 3rd gen 4Runners and also looked their mount depth and made my judgment based on that. While the threaded holes on the side of the aftermarket HU will ultimately determine how far the HU will stick out. So unless they used the furthest back set of mounting holes (sometimes 2 sets) you might be stuck with it and have no wiggle room.

Aaron
xcmountain80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 07:54 PM   #58
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
also, i added a rear view camera to the eclipse avn4430 gps system. i know usually when you put the car into reverse, it should automatically activate the camera. but my mechanic said it cant be done and that you have to press the Source button on the unit to change it to "frt" mode to activate the camera. this works without a doubt but i was wondering if my mechanic was correct when he said that it cant be done in any other mode like GPS mode or music mode because right now, when the backup camera is activated, music does not play. any ideas?
aznyballer4eva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 09:40 PM   #59
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
y2kltdsport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Oak Grove, MN
Posts: 185
the backup cam should be hooked up to reverse signal, on my pioneer avic D3 it works when you put it rev. or you can hit rear view when you r driving forward and see where you've been or whos following you. pretty cool
y2kltdsport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 06:46 PM   #60
Registered User
 
xcmountain80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jupiter, FL
Posts: 1,921
My Pioneer doesn't do it, well it might if I had it hooked up like it supposed to but I'm utilizing a bypass that keeps the unit thinking its always in park to allow dvd play while driving. I'm using multiple cameras and have to push the rear view button to get a picture while backing up. Some do it and some don't, when in doubt RTFM (read the freaking manual) it will be in there for sure or download it from pioneer.

Aaron
xcmountain80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just Differentials Toyota Tundra Crewmax w/ 6.5' bed justdifferentials Vendors Build-Ups (Build-Up Section) 12 09-12-2016 07:42 AM
Power steering pump rebuild Kylenicoll33 84-85 Trucks & 4Runners 3 09-17-2015 09:40 AM
Labor Day Sales Here! Now! PureTacoma_Tundra Vendor Advertising 0 09-06-2015 07:38 AM
Nitro Gear Project "Murph" 97 FZJ80 justdifferentials Vendors Build-Ups (Build-Up Section) 0 09-05-2015 07:52 PM
Urd 7th injector vacum T fitting anniesball 95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 0 09-05-2015 09:45 AM


Tags
4430, 6620, avn, avn6620, bypass, chevy, din, double, double din, eclipse, fit, pioneer avh-p4000dvd, radios, silverado, toyota, tundra

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:17 PM.


2010 InternetBrands, Inc.