YotaTech Forums  

Go Back   YotaTech Forums > Toyota SUV & Truck Tech > 95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Welcome to Yotatech!
Welcome to Yotatech,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-25-2009, 11:33 AM   #41 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Jay204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada
Posts: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rock Slide View Post
The HU install itself should be easy enough...I've ripped my dash apart at least a dozen times before

As far as the ipod cable, where is everyone routing that to? I've thought about routing it up thru the small cubby hole next to the e-brake lever...as I don't use that space much anyway. Just drill a hole in the back of it and route the cable thru it.

And yes Aaron, I will tell my wife it's all your fault.

The HU is very easy to install RS, I re-used the brackets that were on my factory HU to mount my DVD HU back in place. Takes about 10min if your wiring harness is all set to go. As for the Ipod connector I run mine through the back into my glove box. I do like the sound of your idea though...if you do that type of install post some pics of your good work!
This ad is not displayed to registered members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Yotatech!
__________________
2000 4Runner SR5 4x4 197k CONVERTED to LIMITED -
RIP - 2012


SS 1.2 coming SOON!
Jay204 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 12:33 PM   #42 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
xcmountain80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jupiter, FL
Posts: 1,921
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rock Slide View Post
The HU install itself should be easy enough...I've ripped my dash apart at least a dozen times before

As far as the ipod cable, where is everyone routing that to? I've thought about routing it up thru the small cubby hole next to the e-brake lever...as I don't use that space much anyway. Just drill a hole in the back of it and route the cable thru it.

And yes Aaron, I will tell my wife it's all your fault.
Ahhh yes the hidden ipod trick, drill a hole in the florr of your center console plumb the ipod cable through then put your ipod in the small 1st layer center console compartment with a piece of foam and it wont move. Stealthy hidden and out of the way.

Aaron
xcmountain80 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 10:05 AM   #43 (permalink)
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (1)
 
Rock Slide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: B'ham, AL
Posts: 2,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay204 View Post
ha ha good spend more cash on that truck of yours!! It can only keep getting better right?




....still waiting to do that projector retrofit.....i'll send you a box with ALL the componants lol j/j
That's right! It just keeps getting better and better! lol Now my wife's 4Runner...that's another story.

Maybe one day I'll get around to doing that projector retrofit for you.
__________________
2002 4Runner Sport 4WD

My 4Runner Profile

Accessories: SS 7.1 Lift Kit, WabFab 1" BL, Modified & Color-matched TJM T-15, Stubb Sliders, FX/TSX HID Projector Retrofit, Tundra Brakes, Hilux Surf Field Monitor, TRD Ivan Stewart Wheels, Yoko Geolanders 265/75s, WeatherTechs, Pioneer HU, LED Tail Lights, JBL Speakers

Mods: Disabled DRLs, Disabled Keyless Entry Chirp, AndyMod 2.0, Fog Light Mod, Air Elbow Mod, Rear Diff Breather Mod
Rock Slide is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 05:14 AM   #44 (permalink)
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (1)
 
Rock Slide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: B'ham, AL
Posts: 2,237
Ok guys, how are you hooking up the 2 power antenna wires to your new HU? I know this is a diversity antenna setup, but my new HU only has a place for one antenna (I'm assuming the larger one plugs in there). What do I do with the smaller connector from the back glass antenna? Leave it unplugged?

Also, how do I need to wire my new wiring harness so the power antenna goes up when the radio is selected and down when the CD/ipod is selected?
__________________
2002 4Runner Sport 4WD

My 4Runner Profile

Accessories: SS 7.1 Lift Kit, WabFab 1" BL, Modified & Color-matched TJM T-15, Stubb Sliders, FX/TSX HID Projector Retrofit, Tundra Brakes, Hilux Surf Field Monitor, TRD Ivan Stewart Wheels, Yoko Geolanders 265/75s, WeatherTechs, Pioneer HU, LED Tail Lights, JBL Speakers

Mods: Disabled DRLs, Disabled Keyless Entry Chirp, AndyMod 2.0, Fog Light Mod, Air Elbow Mod, Rear Diff Breather Mod
Rock Slide is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 07:16 AM   #45 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Jay204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada
Posts: 308
Humm... RS I just plugged my antenna into the one slot and left the other one out....as for the antenna going up and down....mine turns on with the radio and that is the only time it will activate....mine JUST broke last weekend so I will need to install a new one....
__________________
2000 4Runner SR5 4x4 197k CONVERTED to LIMITED -
RIP - 2012


SS 1.2 coming SOON!
Jay204 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 10:12 PM   #46 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
One_96TR4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Posts: 439
Send a message via MSN to One_96TR4
just use the bigger one, I don't really notice any difference with the smaller one unpluged.
__________________
'96 SR5 4x4 5speed, e-locked...Tundra/OME Lift.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sleeper View Post
It's good to work on your own truck, it only strengthens the bond.
Praise the lifted!
One_96TR4 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 07:13 AM   #47 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
xcmountain80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jupiter, FL
Posts: 1,921
Quote:
Originally Posted by One_96TR4 View Post
just use the bigger one, I don't really notice any difference with the smaller one unpluged.
Mybe I'm the only one with the issue as Rs hasn't installed his yet but my antenna is plugged in but it go no where, I though there was a power lead (outside of the antenna that need to be connected) as the toyota wiring harness that I picked up from Best Buy has a wire labeled power antenna.

Aaron
xcmountain80 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 09:20 AM   #48 (permalink)
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (1)
 
98SR54RUNNER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 411
akk4786
Quote:
Originally Posted by xcmountain80 View Post
Mybe I'm the only one with the issue as Rs hasn't installed his yet but my antenna is plugged in but it go no where, I though there was a power lead (outside of the antenna that need to be connected) as the toyota wiring harness that I picked up from Best Buy has a wire labeled power antenna.

Aaron
My HU works the same as others have said. I just use the larger one, leave other unplugged. Antenna comes up when the HU power is on. Make sure your REMOTE wire is connected.
__________________
98 SR5 4Runner
Desert Sand
OME 881/890 & 04/27 Shocks


Go Gamecocks!
98SR54RUNNER is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 10:22 AM   #49 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
xcmountain80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jupiter, FL
Posts: 1,921
Quote:
Originally Posted by 98SR54RUNNER View Post
My HU works the same as others have said. I just use the larger one, leave other unplugged. Antenna comes up when the HU power is on. Make sure your REMOTE wire is connected.
Remote wire .... connected to power antenna wire?

Aaron
xcmountain80 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 11:29 AM   #50 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 43
This should be the same as when i installed my avh-p3100dvd basically the same thing but with a smaller screen and bigger buttons but you connect the blue and white wire from the harness that plugs into the back of the HU with the remote wire from the best buy wiring harness, in your case, (mine was from walmart) and that big plug goes into the back of the HU IIRC. Here is a link of the wiring diagram. Go to the installation manual part and its page 7.
http://akamaipix.crutchfield.com/Man...130AVHP410.PDF
__________________
1998 4Runner Limited 4WD, Locker, Supercharged, TRD Cat-Back Exhaust, 99-02 Headlights, 4300K HID Projectors,Pioneer AVH-p3100dvd, 2 RF P3's,
Saving for Long Travel
t4r505 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 12:13 PM   #51 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
xcmountain80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jupiter, FL
Posts: 1,921
Hmm yep I see that I gues when I did my video bypass I just payed no attention to the "remote wire" from the head unit that had to be spliced in to the video bypass thingy. I'll scotch lok the pwr antenna wire to the remote wire and see if that works.

Aaron
xcmountain80 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 12:24 PM   #52 (permalink)
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (1)
 
Rock Slide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: B'ham, AL
Posts: 2,237
Aaron, that's what the VM I left you yesterday was about. I found that same wiring diagram on pg 7 of the installation pamphlet that stated the blu/wht wire should be connected the the blue remote wire on the metra wiring harness. Hope my VM was not too confusing .

I've already soldered my blue wires together hoping this works like I think it should. Can't wait for YOU to try it out.
__________________
2002 4Runner Sport 4WD

My 4Runner Profile

Accessories: SS 7.1 Lift Kit, WabFab 1" BL, Modified & Color-matched TJM T-15, Stubb Sliders, FX/TSX HID Projector Retrofit, Tundra Brakes, Hilux Surf Field Monitor, TRD Ivan Stewart Wheels, Yoko Geolanders 265/75s, WeatherTechs, Pioneer HU, LED Tail Lights, JBL Speakers

Mods: Disabled DRLs, Disabled Keyless Entry Chirp, AndyMod 2.0, Fog Light Mod, Air Elbow Mod, Rear Diff Breather Mod
Rock Slide is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 04:54 PM   #53 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
xcmountain80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jupiter, FL
Posts: 1,921
Why do I always have to be the guinea pig? I'm not fat just big boned, and I have the big guns so someone else should certainly go 1st.

Aaron
xcmountain80 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 10:36 AM   #54 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
xcmountain80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jupiter, FL
Posts: 1,921
No dice, the blue pwr antenna wire to the remote wire does get the antenna up but it stays that way until the unit or vehicle is powered off, this will not work for me. As far as the illum wire I already have them hooked up and no control over the dimmer, now there are two orange wires on the vehicle connector side I have mine wired into the big connector not the smaller one.

Aaron
xcmountain80 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 01:51 PM   #55 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 43
My bad i forgot you wanted it to only come up when the radio is on. Mine is set up to go up when the unit is on so even when an ipod/cd is playing.
__________________
1998 4Runner Limited 4WD, Locker, Supercharged, TRD Cat-Back Exhaust, 99-02 Headlights, 4300K HID Projectors,Pioneer AVH-p3100dvd, 2 RF P3's,
Saving for Long Travel
t4r505 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 05:45 PM   #56 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
07 highlander with an eclipse avn4430

I recent bought the Eclipse AVN 4430 navi for my 07 highlander. i brought it to a mechanic to have it put in. the car was brought back to me with the navi fully functional and everything. but it seems to be sticking out from the rest of the car quite a bit, unlike the original stereo which used to be in place. i mean i didnt expect the navi to be a perfect replacement of the stereo system in terms of size, but i also didnt expect it to stick out this much. has anyone had a similar experience? or can anyone advise?
aznyballer4eva is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 06:38 PM   #57 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
xcmountain80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jupiter, FL
Posts: 1,921
Quote:
Originally Posted by aznyballer4eva View Post
I recent bought the Eclipse AVN 4430 navi for my 07 highlander. i brought it to a mechanic to have it put in. the car was brought back to me with the navi fully functional and everything. but it seems to be sticking out from the rest of the car quite a bit, unlike the original stereo which used to be in place. i mean i didnt expect the navi to be a perfect replacement of the stereo system in terms of size, but i also didnt expect it to stick out this much. has anyone had a similar experience? or can anyone advise?

I shopped my depth prior to ordering a HU, I've seen similar HU's in other 3rd gen 4Runners and also looked their mount depth and made my judgment based on that. While the threaded holes on the side of the aftermarket HU will ultimately determine how far the HU will stick out. So unless they used the furthest back set of mounting holes (sometimes 2 sets) you might be stuck with it and have no wiggle room.

Aaron
xcmountain80 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 06:54 PM   #58 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
also, i added a rear view camera to the eclipse avn4430 gps system. i know usually when you put the car into reverse, it should automatically activate the camera. but my mechanic said it cant be done and that you have to press the Source button on the unit to change it to "frt" mode to activate the camera. this works without a doubt but i was wondering if my mechanic was correct when he said that it cant be done in any other mode like GPS mode or music mode because right now, when the backup camera is activated, music does not play. any ideas?
aznyballer4eva is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 08:40 PM   #59 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (1)
 
y2kltdsport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Oak Grove, MN
Posts: 182
the backup cam should be hooked up to reverse signal, on my pioneer avic D3 it works when you put it rev. or you can hit rear view when you r driving forward and see where you've been or whos following you. pretty cool
__________________
Silver Y2K LTD Runner,265/75 16 Goodyear Duratracs,OME springs/shocks,cornfed spacers front, rear E- Locker,Factory Scooped,Airbox mod,fog light mod, drl mod,Tundra 231mm big brake mod, Brembos,Goodridge S/S lines,Tint, custom TRD decals, 02 tails, Pioneer Avic D3 with reverse cam, MB Quart spkrs, infinity basslink, trucool trans cooler, seat bolt mod, Weathertech floor mats, Magnaflow muffler, over 325,000 miles and still awesome
y2kltdsport is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 05:46 PM   #60 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
xcmountain80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jupiter, FL
Posts: 1,921
My Pioneer doesn't do it, well it might if I had it hooked up like it supposed to but I'm utilizing a bypass that keeps the unit thinking its always in park to allow dvd play while driving. I'm using multiple cameras and have to push the rear view button to get a picture while backing up. Some do it and some don't, when in doubt RTFM (read the freaking manual) it will be in there for sure or download it from pioneer.

Aaron
xcmountain80 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 05:46 PM
Yotatech
4WD Truck




Paid Advertisement
Reply

Tags
4430, 6620, avn, avn6620, bypass, chevy, din, double, double din, eclipse, fit, pioneer avh-p4000dvd, radios, silverado, toyota, tundra

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double Din to Din stereo install?? Quattro15 95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 13 07-21-2008 08:30 AM
Double Din Stereo In 95 Runner shansethp 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 7 08-27-2007 03:50 AM
Can I swap out my OEM Double-Din HU for an OEM Single-Din HU? Rock Slide Vehicle Audio & Home Entertainment 3 08-06-2007 07:24 AM
Double Din Install ks2721 Vehicle Audio & Home Entertainment 0 01-02-2005 08:53 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:45 PM.


2010 InternetBrands, Inc.

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2