Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Tuning a Supercharged Engine?

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2014, 11:25 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Tuning a Supercharged Engine?

I apologize on the amount of supercharger threads here and this has probably been covered before... but after searching a while I haven't found the answer.

I am planning on buying a 3.4L 4Runner and eventually putting a Supercharger on it with methanol injection. I'm new to engine tuning, since tuning a 3VZE is a waste of time.

So far, it seems like the URD 7th injector kit is the most common way people tune these engines. But I am not going that route, since water/meth injection has more benefits. I read in another thread where a Scan tool that connects to a laptop like this one: http://www.scantool.net/obdlink-sx.html would allow to tune the engine. Is this correct? Or is that just for reading fuel trims and data and I would need to purchase something else as well?
Old 02-08-2014, 01:00 PM

Received 216 Likes on 158 Posts
Search Texas Aces threads he has multiple wonderful threads on chargers and the 7th injector setup.
Old 02-08-2014, 01:22 PM

I was planning on running water/meth instead of the URD setup though, so not sure if that will help (I've read some). The meth kit I'm looking at ,Devil's Own, does not have a tuning component.
Old 02-08-2014, 02:26 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
No plug-in options like you describe. That's my biggest gripe with my 4Runner. It would be awesome if we could just plug in a laptop and tune on the fly, like HPTuners and GM cars can.

Sent from my iPhone using YotaTech
Old 02-08-2014, 03:03 PM

Received 273 Likes on 184 Posts
no , you cant "tune" a Toyota computer . if you have a piggyback or aftermarket stand alone to add to it , then yes , but that is the only way .

Old 02-08-2014, 04:53 PM

Shucks, that would make things a whole lot easier.