Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Supercharger Pulley PSI Questions

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2006, 06:24 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Supercharger Pulley PSI Questions

I know there is a lot of info on the supercharger out there but I have some specific questions regarding boost pulleys. I am doing a 3.4 swap into my 1991 pickup. I have been thinking about supercharging the engine if I can get hold of a supercharger relatively cheap. But I don't have the money for all the mods that people say are necessary for the supercharger on the 3.4 (URD fuel mod, 7th injector, etc.). I was wondering if I got a low PSI pulley (~7psi) would those modifications still be necessary? Or are they really necessary to begin with? I am a damn conservative driver, and I very rarely break 3000 rpm even during hard (for me) acceleration. For those of you who are questioning why I want the supercharger in the first place after my driving description, the answer is altitude driving and torque. I think the supercharger would help these aspects of driving but correct me if I am wrong.
Thanks,
Marge
Old 10-31-2006, 07:14 AM
Banned

you can try a 5 psi pulley and be conservative with your driving but later on you will still need to get the fuel upgrades, and the rest.

Maybe Midiwall will chime in.. Im not as knowledgable about this as he is as I dont even have an SC yet
Old 10-31-2006, 04:47 PM

I've had my SCr for close to 25k miles now. It has no fuel mods (factory boost pulley). Never pings. I live @ 300ft elevation. The truck has 156k miles now. Uses Zero oil. Idles perfectly smooth. Acceleration is awesome.

This is my experience. Others have had different results.
Old 10-31-2006, 06:59 PM
Contributing Member