95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

New off-roader

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2002, 05:45 PM
Contributing Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New off-roader

Hello Everyone,

I am very excited to have found this forum. I just recently got a 1999 4Runner Limited with over 70K miles on it and is 100% stock. I am new to the off-road scene and live in Bellevue Washington. I was wondering if anybody here lives in the Puget Sound region and would know of any begginer/easy trails that I could get started on. I have heard of off-road clubs and scene pictures, but I dont think me or my vehicle is ready for that degree of difficulty. Also, I have a limited budget and was wondering what your thoughts/recommendations where on modifications. What is the most important and shouldnt be overlooked. I am leaning towards adding a brush guard first. Is there something I am overlooking. I know im asking alot of questions, but I'm a total newb to the sport and am eiger to dive right into it. Any help would be appreciative. Thanks.

--Mike
Old 10-07-2002, 05:53 PM

well im pretty much a beginner myself, but most of the people here know A LOT about toyotas. there's nothing wrong with adding a brush guard first, thats not a bad idea. im getting a bullbar, which is a bumper and a brush guard in one, basically. a little expensive, but.. hey.. mine's from ARB. or arbusa.com you can get a brush guard.. just about anywhere. i dont really know what specific brands are good, but some people here have manik or westin. i've seen some from rhino in magazines that look good too.

well welcome to the board, and it sounds like you have a nice runner. just wait, soon yours will look like some of these guy's.... after some work, and $$$$$$
Old 10-07-2002, 06:01 PM
Contributing Member

welcome

Welcome to the forum.
Old 10-07-2002, 06:01 PM
Co-Founder/Administrator
Staff

Received 19 Likes on 15 Posts
Hello fellow Washatonian, and welcome to the board.