Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

need advice on 99 trd 4-runner

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2007, 07:32 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
need advice on 99 4-runner highlander (TRD?)

Let me start by saying that i am a newb, so if i'm posting incorrectly tell me. I have been looking into purchasing a 4-runner for some time now. I have done enough research to know what to look for, but there's alot i don't know and am hoping to get some help/opinions.

So here's the question- I have recently stumbled across a 99 4-runner highlander with a dealer installed supercharger and factory e-locker! I test drove the vehicle this evening and found it to be in good overall condition with a few exceptions. The vehicle has 150,000 miles. I have heard nothing but how dependable toys are, but would the supercharger have caused any additional stress on the motor/drivetrain, and if so, how much? Also, when braking hard from highway speeds the steering wheel pulls to the left and shudders pretty hard. The tires are near bald and this may be causing the troubles, but i am worried it could be something wrong with the front end, but can't decide what would cause this. The vehicle drives straight and feels tight for so many miles, leading me to guess the problem could be warped rotors but the owner claims to have had them checked. The alignment was set within the last year. So what else could be causing this? I am on a tight budget so i don't want to be buying a vehicle only to end up spending a lot just to make it function correctly. These are my main concerns, but i am probably missing something so any input would be greatly appreciated. Cheers

Last edited by sno_blower; 10-25-2007 at 12:30 PM.
Old 10-25-2007, 08:18 AM

A couple of thoughts--