Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

My custom-made ISR mod

Old 08-29-2006, 03:35 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My custom-made ISR mod

I wanted to share with you my custom made ISR modification on my 1999 SR5 4-Runner. I think it looks neat and I love the sound.
After I figured out what I was going to do it was a piece of cake. I read many posts in regards to the ISR using PVC pipe and steel tubes. I wanted to make this modification with parts that anyone could purchase on the web. I am a plastics engineer so I also wanted to leverage my knowledge of these materials.

Part 1 of this post covers the general description and parts, part 2 describes the modification in more detail and part 3 has the pictures.

After a lot of search I finally found a tube 2.5” i.d. and 2.75 o.d. This I found at McMaster-Carr (www.mcmaster.com), part #1989T21 for $22.56. This is a tube made out of Delrin plastic, and it is sold in 6” pieces. You can take the tube right out of the box and plug it on the IS place. I went a little further, but it is not required, and painted the tube with black high-temp engine paint (part 7614T418 from McMaster-Carr). The tube is made out of Delrin. Delrin is a polyacetal (POM) plastic with better temperature resistance than PVC. Its chemical resistance is good enough for the typical stuff around the engine bay. Delrin is actually used for fuel connections in motorcycles. And for those of you skeptical about plastics, keep in mind that the original IS is made out of Polypropylene plastic, which has a much lower temperature resistance. Plus the IS is closer to the engine, so it gets even hotter. As a warning, keep Delrin away from chlorine.