Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Gear Raito...

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2004, 06:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Gear Raito...

So I've decided I want to go with a 2" body lift and some 35x12.50s, and I know I'd have to regear. What ratio would I need? I'm also interested to know more about SAS. (I'm new to this) Obviously, your swapping the IFS for a solid axle. What are the pros/cons? How costly is it? What is involved? Sorry for the two topic question. :pat:
Old 02-10-2004, 07:04 PM

Here's a link to determine your new gear ratio I found on another post here:

http://www.ramblerman.com/blazer/gearcalc.htm
Old 02-10-2004, 07:14 PM
Contributing Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
5.29s are the proper gear ratio for 35s. If you are considering a locker, get it done at the same time as the gears. I'm assuming that you already have a lift because a 2" body lift over stock height will not clear 35s. a SAS would cost at least $1500, but more accurately in the $3000 range depending on how much work you do yourself and what you decide to go with. The pros to a solid front axle is that it is a much simpler suspension system than the IFS and it is far far superior if you do any offroading. the downside is that on-road driving will be rougher and then also the cost of the SAS.
Old 02-10-2004, 07:49 PM

Tell me about a locker. Please remember I'm a at this right now.
Old 02-10-2004, 07:53 PM

Both 4.88's and 5.29's are good for 35's. 5.29's will be a little low for high-speed driving (I don't go above 70).

About the locker: I'm sure you have had a friend that has peeled out and only left one skid mark from the one tire of fire. A locker will solve the problem and make both tires spin so you get better grip. This helps when you are wheeling so that when you lift a tire you don't lose grip.
Old 02-10-2004, 08:07 PM
Contributing Member

here's a link to a SAS write up