Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Gas Mileage 202: Good News for the pedal mashers (long)

Search this Thread

Old 11-15-2004, 08:42 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb Gas Mileage 202: Good News for the pedal mashers (long)

I am an engineering student studying vehicle design @ WWU. Here is a little gas mileage info I just learned: One of the standards that the industry professionals use to measure fuel efficiency is something called BSFC, (brake specific fuel consuption) which is measured in g/kw/hr.... grams (of fuel) used, per kilowatt of power made, per hour. It can also be measured in lbs/hp/hr.....pounds/horsepower/hour. The basic principal is that the engine runs most efficiently at wide open throttle. Check out the attached graph to see what a rough example of the curve is. This one is based on a small 4cyl engine. So the most efficient range is somewhere between 1600 and 3800 with the throttle wide open (.....sorry one can only do some much with windows paint) The info in the graph seems at times counter-intuitive, but can be quite informative on how to drive for fuel efficiency & plan for gear changes and stuff like that.

Hope you all enjoy

Also if the attachment doesn't work, could someone help me out, or post it as a pic in a reply, because I couldn't figure out how to do it. Thanks
Attached Thumbnails Gas Mileage 202: Good News for the pedal mashers (long)-gas.jpg  
Old 11-15-2004, 09:41 PM
Banned

cool... so im really saving gas most of the time
Old 11-16-2004, 08:57 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
SO THAT MENAS foot mashed to the floor is best right?

:pat:
Old 11-16-2004, 10:03 AM

Originally Posted by 4Hummer
SO THAT MENAS foot mashed to the floor is best right?

:pat:

Yes, even at lower rpm's and road speeds. I argued with my prof about low speeds and the age old thinking behing "leadfoots" but he assured me that underload (normal energy required to move car), wide open is best.