Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Finally got OME Lift - 881/890 - Pics to come!

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2010, 01:13 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
(quote) Did you notice any difference when adding the drop? (quote)

I ran for a few years with 890s and no PHB drop. When I went to the 891s I did add the drop.

w/o, the PH bar would cycle thru an offset arc. This arc would move the rear left and right as you hit bumps.

w, the PH bar cycles thru a more vertical/centered arc. This arc keeps the axle moving in a slight arc but mainly centered straight up and down.

Seat of the pants feel, w/o- you feel the rear "swim", with the PHB drop you don't have that swimming feel.
Old 07-10-2010, 03:47 PM

I just got my OME lift, 881/890's, TO spacer, and diff drop. I am by no means an engineer, but the diff drop makes sense, was recommended by more than one person, and was only like $25 so...

I actually just finished installing the rear. Took about 2 hours. Most difficult part was installing the rear shocks, specifically the upper nut. Would have helped to have a 17mm deep, but only had a 17mm shallow.

Finishing up the front on Monday or Tuesday so it looks pretty bad right now with the rake, it will be embarrasing to drive it to work tonight.

I recommend you spray everything you will be removing with PB Blaster and maybe tackle your rear shock upper nuts while you are waiting for the kit to arrive. I did that and it brakes up the process a little.

On a side note, I had 164k on the factory rear shocks and they are still good to go.
Old 07-10-2010, 04:28 PM
Banned

Received 20 Likes on 9 Posts
No pics yet? FAIL.

Old 07-11-2010, 09:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Gerdo
(quote) Did you notice any difference when adding the drop? (quote)

I ran for a few years with 890s and no PHB drop. When I went to the 891s I did add the drop.