Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

tire size vs. off road capability all else being equal

Search this Thread

Old 01-11-2007, 08:32 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
tire size vs. off road capability all else being equal

Hi folks, I am new to yotatech.com but have been 4 wheeling for work and play the better part of 20 years now.

I have done many searches here and on other forums for an intelligent discussion of tire size as a function of off road ability or capability with all else being equal.

Let's say we have a toyota with 235/75 tires and the same exact truck ith 33 inch tires (let's pretend the suspension/gearing/lockers aren't a factor here). How much better would the larger tires be off road?
In mud?
On rocks?
Water crossings?

I am currently driving a bone stock '03 regular cab. It amazes me to no end where it will go with careful driving. Unquestionably dual lockers, and self recovery ability would be my first upgrade to increase off road capability. But I would like to hear from folks on the forum how their experience with larger tires increased their off road capability.
Old 01-11-2007, 08:53 PM
Contributing Member

larger than stock gets you numerous advantages. 1 being of course the increased clearance gained underneath. Bigger tires also improve all your angles: approach, breakover & departure. The 2nd being the amount of sidewall and flex gained from airing down. We all know this helps the tire 'wrap' itself around rocks etc. However, bigger tire & airing down kind of cancels itself out, but its marginal the amount you lose when airing down.

Wider gives you better stability & more grip when the tires conform to the shape of the rockface..etc.

That said, its often if better to go with a size thats a good compromise. small enough to stuff in your wheel wells, but big enough to make a clearance difference. There is such a thing as too big...
Old 01-11-2007, 08:57 PM
Contributing Member