Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

Ever wanted to spend someone else's money? Decide how to build my truck!

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2011, 09:35 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ever wanted to spend someone else's money? Decide how to build my truck!

First off Hi everyone and thanks for the help. Complete Newb here. Did quite a bit of searching and reading over the past week or so, and I have an idea of what I want to build. I just want to run it by the experts first and see what you guys think. The only problem I'm having is that I know little to nothing about building an off road truck and pretty much everyone writes their posts as if they are talking to experts (makes sense, most of you are talking to experts) which makes it tough for newbies like me to understand.

First a little background. Sorry if any of this sounds dumb. I am pretty much completely new to off roading. I collect hobbies and just haven't gotten to this one until now. Once I decide on one I learn as much as you can in a few years then move on. Some highlights of my resume: firearms (never outgrew this one), wood working, sailing (led to building a sailboat), protection dog training, leatherwork/how to use a whip, knife making/throwing, home improvement/DIY.

Well now I'm about to buy a truck and it's going to become my new automotive/off roading hobby.

My uses for the truck are this, listed in order:
1) Practicality. I already have 2 daily driver cars. Need a truck for all the usual truck stuff. Hauling trash, transporting materials for my hobbies/projects, helping friends move, camping at the beach or in a campground, towing stuff when the need arises ect.