Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

Bad oil leak

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2010, 09:30 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Bad oil leak

Hi,
I have a super bad oil leak and can't seem to get any definitive answers from the 3 shops i've brought it to so far (I am not a mechanic myself); i've heard it's the oil pump seal, I need a new engine (rings are bad), rear main seal and that they can't tell where it's coming from so I am asking for your help.

Here are the symptoms: oil is everywhere, even on the underside of the hood. When I cleaned off the engine well it looked as if it was pouring out directly from the front of the block. It does trickle down and leave a big puddle below the oil pump, making it look as if it's coming from there. It has been using about 1 qt of oil/ week. The last time I drove it I had to stop halfway on my 40 mile commute home to put more oil in, suddenly it was leaking even more. It sounded as if it were trying to overheat (a few little bubbling sounds, but not bad like when it really overheats) when I stopped during that last trip, and felt as if it had suddenly lost a lot of power. I stopped driving it then because I didn't want to damage the engine. There is no smoke coming from the tailpipe so i'm thinking it's not the rings??

Here's what i've done: replaced the PCV valve, replaced the oil pump o-ring and seal, and took the oil pump apart again to add a speedi-sleeve when the seal didn't fix it.

It's a 1994 toyota deluxe pickup, 4 cyl 22RE, with 260k. I love my toyota and would like to fix it. It's been the best vehicle i'e ever had. However with each of these possible fixes costing many hundreds to thousands of dollars I am trying to determine what might actually fix it as, unfortunately, I don't have an unlimited supply of cash.

Any ideas would be appreciated.
Thanks!
Old 08-18-2010, 09:41 AM

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts