Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

90 22re truck massive oil consumption

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2015, 10:37 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
90 22re truck massive oil consumption

Ok, so my truck is using excessive amounts of oil, like 2 quarts every 2-3 days.i drive my truck everyday and depend on it to get me to my work sites, as im a beverage tech with a contract with a big company that requires me to go to many gas stations thru out so.cal in one day. Anyway before i begin taking anything apart i would like some pointers on what or where i should look for. It has 226,000 miles ,no leaks that i have seen on floor or anything. I noticed oil pan gasket has oil all around but its not dripping. Only thing i notice when going up a hill if i rev up high when shifting from 2 to 3 gear i see a white smoke trail coming from my exhaust for a few seconds . I did the sr5 cluster swap and my oil pressure is only high after i put oil in it for a bit. I use 20/50w oil
Old 11-25-2015, 11:15 AM

Received 603 Likes on 441 Posts
That is very substantial oil consumption. At your level of loss, if the oil was leaking, it is near certain that the whole underside of the truck would be coated.

If its not leaking, the engine is burning it.

Looks like engine overhaul is in your near future.
Old 11-25-2015, 12:42 PM

Man, i was hoping it was something like valve stem seals . I get nervous when im out far from home and the engine makes a certain sound when accelerating and its low on oil. Lots of times ive check the dip stick and it doesnt even show anything on the end, afraid of throwing a rod or something.
Old 11-25-2015, 01:11 PM

Received 603 Likes on 441 Posts
Bad valve seals might well be contributing to your oil consumption, but that much oil loss cannot be pinned on valve seals alone.

What was the onset of this oil consumption?? Did it hit in a short period, or did it creep up worse by dribs and drabs???
Old 11-26-2015, 04:01 AM