Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

4wheel questons

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2011, 05:04 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
4wheel questons

I've searched multiple forums for answers on this- maybe its just me but I'm having issues engaging my 4wheel drive.
I've a 3rd gen(2000) 4runner limited, I've pushed the button on the shifter, shifted it into 4-hi, all the lights on the dash light up indicating that it is indeed in 4wheel drive. It sounds like the transfer case clicks in. I've tried this on the fly, as well as sitting still- tried it in reverse, shifting from neutral back into drive etc. I can not get the front tires to spin, nor is there any difficulty turning(which would lead me to believe the system isnt working). I'm new to a 4runner- I down sized from a F350 with a manual system. Any tricks to getting this system working? is this an indication that the system just isnt working? what to do?
Any help would be greatly appreciated!!
Old 02-14-2011, 05:07 PM

you know positive the front tires arent moving? i would put the truck on jacks to make sure
Old 02-14-2011, 05:08 PM
Banned

Received 20 Likes on 9 Posts
Originally Posted by SR4Runner
I can not get the front tires to spin, nor is there any difficulty turning(which would lead me to believe the system isnt working).
Dash light on. Shifted into 4WD. Are you certain the front tires are not turning in 4WD or just assuming they are not?

:wabbit2:
Old 02-14-2011, 05:13 PM

if you hear the transfer case click and you dont hear any extreme metel noise i would assume it is working
Old 02-14-2011, 05:16 PM