Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

3VZE coolant leak into intake?

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2011, 06:11 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
3VZE coolant leak into intake?

Greetings, all.
Newbie here, but plenty of grease under my fingernails.

1991 pickup 3VZE 110K miles or so. AT, AC, 2WD.

I first noticed some engine miss at idle when warm. I know miss is less obvious off idle, (probably even less with a 6) but it definitely seemed to run fine off idle. Also idled fine when cold.

I noticed it was overheating; coolant was low, filled it up, seemed OK; though didn't want to start -just once, sounded like the engine was hitting something that kept it from turning, but then started normally. Didn't think much of it at the time.

Overheating again a couple weeks later, filled it up; ran fine, sat for half an hour or so, wouldn't start -again, sounded like engine was hitting something on the way around. After several tries, started normally.

Runs fine, but after about two miles the temperature starts going up.

I get white smoke, but only at idle and on acceleration. Driving at a steady 40MPH, everything seems perfectly normal.

At this point I figure I have water in the cylinders, or a cylinder. Not sure how fast it's losing coolant because my commute is only three miles, so it's very likely that it has been losing coolant and not overheating only because I haven't driven it far enough to make it overheat.

No drips, no external leaks that I've noticed.

Compression check gives me 180 on all six. Spark plugs all look normal though #3 is a very slightly cleaner than the others.

I don't see any oil in the radiator, and I don't feel -or smell- any exhaust from the radiator cap, don't hear any bubbling. Oil cap has milky sludge. Dipstick looks OK, but about a quart and a half high.