Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

22re truck won't start. electrical problems?

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2010, 05:36 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
22re truck won't start. electrical problems?

I just want to admit that i am a super newbie. I'm not a gear head just a starving artist who lucked out with a great truck. My truck is a 1991 pickup 22re and has run well since i've gotten it.

I recently drained my bettery by leaving the headlights on while it sat for two days. there was absolutely no response when I tried to start it. I asked a neighbor to help me jump start it and after I hooked up the cables on his battery he grabbed the other end without asking and crossed the cables. i didn't realize it until i got in the truck and turned the ignition once and saw smoke rising from the positive battery terminal. by the time I switched the cables to to the proper position it was too late. i tried starting the car but didn't get any response. I pulled the battery out to charge it over night. The next day i checked all the fuses and found the ALT fuse burned out. After I replaced it the engine will crank but will never turn on its own. ive looked at all the fuses and they all seem to work fine. I even looked at the ECM to see if it had burned out but it looked and smelled fine. at this point i don't know what direction to take with it. please help. Where should I start?

btw I also tried checking trouble codes but i dont see a CEL on my dash.

Last edited by jessenegron; 01-23-2010 at 05:45 PM.
Old 01-25-2010, 12:36 AM

Received 99 Likes on 86 Posts
Red face

You might want to check the fusible links in the engine fuse box.

Did your battery take a charge it might be shot!!.

Be a good idea to check the main grounds going to the engine and to the inner fender perhaps you didn`t get a good connection when you put the battery back in.
Old 02-01-2010, 06:18 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts