Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

22RE strange flux

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2009, 11:51 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
22RE strange flux

I have a 22RE in a 90 2door 4Runner, manual transmission that i recently bought. I have replaced the O2 sensor, the thermostat, and a new TPS, checked every vaccum hose, radiator flush, new oil and grease everywhere and had the throttle body off for cleansing, and the engine runs generally great. (I assume the rattly ticking is the timing chain, I'll get to that later....) I have read just about every post in here so far, and feel I have done my homework. I am no mechanic, but am able to do this thanks to you guys. As my first post I would like to thank you all for the information and the knowledge posted here!

One issue remains:
On startup, the engine runs a bit high, around 2000, then settles in at 700 when warm. When the engine reaches operating temperature, it has a flux going from 700 revs to 1000, then down to 800, up to 1100, 900-1200, 1000- 1300 and so on,escalating. The cycle is broken when driving, then it settles at 700 again, and everything is fine..

When I adjusted the TPS it ended up on around 600 Ohm on the VTA-E2 (prescribed is between 200 and 800) but I could not replicate the <2.3K Ohm on the IDL-E2 positions. The meter tells me 0.001, and nothing sensible on any combination of the contacts. (I have three TPS, one sticky broken, one 90 degree off, and one correct fit (all Denso)and in all I can get my VTA-E2 readings, but not the IDL-E2) I'm not so worried about not getting these readings, think it's weird, but it runs good, apart from the escalating flux when warm.

Any suggestions on what would cause this?
Old 12-06-2009, 03:30 PM

Idle screw is all the way down, where it belongs to keep the revs down. Dashpot is not entirely in use at the moment, but i don't see why that should affect a warm engine only?
Old 12-06-2009, 03:49 PM